What's new

Making Custom Brush (Sort of) and want to know what to get the hole depth drilled at

Hey! My first post here!
So I am somewhat new at DE shaving, been going at it for about 6 months and enjoy it a lot more then the regular cartridge (not to mention I get a better shave too!)
I currently have a Tweezerman Cheepo Brush and a Parker 22R and thought that for my birthday I should get myself a nice gift. I know the two upgrades I want to make in the next two years (most likely self-presents) are a silver-tip brush and a stainless steel razor (probably an iKon or something else I find next year). I figured that since my brush isn't too great, I should get a new one, but wanted something special.

After looking around I saw that the Goldennib had some nice brushes (24mm Super Silvertip), and that handicraft-vn had some nice horn handles (Black Horn Handle). I was looking at a bunch and the black marble horn really stood out to me. I asked the price and found out that it would be $100 (their prices are very wrong on the site, you have to email them to see what they actually have in stock). The handle I finally settled for was the plain black horn which would be $50 with shipping. So it wasn't what I actually wanted, but I can sort of justify $90 for a custom brush like this as opposed to $140.

Now my one issue is I have absolutly no clue how deep to get the horn vendor to drill the horn, I know it should be a 24mm diameter, and the goldennub said the height of the plug is about 8mm, should I get the vendor to drill 8mm or a bit more just in case?

Thanks for the help!

Edit: Whoops! Thought I posted this on the brush making sub forum!