What's new

Rotation Question from a Noob

Hello All,
I am new to the straight razor arena. While I have been wet shaving for many years using DE and cartridges I have now transitioned to straights. I am currently using a Dovo Shavette and will have a regular straight on Monday. I have a question about rotating razors. Is there a reason other than preference ?? Do you actually need several razors or can you get away with one ?

Thanks for your help,

You can certainly use the same razor every day. The only real reason to have a second is in case the edge of the first one becomes damaged. Once you're accustomed to shaving with a straight, the prospect of shaving with something else if your razor, say, gets a nick on its edge, is too much to bear!

You can certainly use the same razor every day. The only real reason to have a second is in case the edge of the first one becomes damaged. Once you're accustomed to shaving with a straight, the prospect of shaving with something else if your razor, say, gets a nick on its edge, is too much to bear!

That's what I was thinking, but I wasn't sure.

Also with several razors you can rotate the use. With each razor used only once or twice a week, the time between the need to hone is extended. That is one reason for me to have several. That and I enjoy the different personality of each blade.

This question has brought up plenty of discussion before. I was told that you should have at least two razors. The edge goes through a bit of a change or transition after shaving. So let it rest for a day and use your second, third or thirtieth razor to shave with.

Glen

I believe in steel memory, however, I do not believe that the effect is important enough that letting it rest an extra day, or two, or ten make any significant difference.
So, the main reasons you may need a second razor are:
- you want it badly as you're hooked and lack self-control (that's 99.9% of us)