What's new

First Two Weeks of DE Shaving

Hi All,

Like many, I have been lurking and bought myself some supplies to hopefully start to enjoy shaving and get a better shave. I had been shaving for about 7 years with twin-blade Schick disposable and the cheapest canned gel I could buy. Since I started shaving I had always wanted to learn more about shaving with a soap, brush, and what I thought were cool looking razors (DE's). A couple of weeks ago I picked up the following
  • Merkur 180
  • Col. Conk Bay Rum Soap
  • Tweezerman Brush
  • Art of Shaving Unscented Aftershave Gel
  • Derby and Feather Blades

So far I have shaved about 10 times and my shaves keep getting better, but I am having a bit of a problem figuring out the grain pattern on my neck. I am looking to pick up a blade sampler to see if anything suits me better than the Derbys, I have been weary of the Feathers and not used them yet since I have been getting a better shave each time with the Derbys because my technique is getting better.

Just figured I would say hello.

My neck has given me fits forever. DE shaving has finally solved that problem. Whiskers grow in all directions there, so I have to adjust the direction and angle of my razor. Seems so simple, but when I did the same thing with all those cartridges over the years, those stubborn neck hairs stayed uncut. A single edge was what I needed all this time. Amazing. You guys have been keeping this "new" shaving method from the rest of us!
:wink2: