What's new

Thoughts on the Linen Side of the Strop?

Do you typically use the linen or similar material side of the strop?

• No, I mostly just go straight to leather.

• I use unpasted linen before leather.

• I use linen before leather, but the linen is pasted.

• It varies a lot for me.

• Personally, I haven't really figured it out yet.

Results are only viewable after voting.
I don't know that it does anything for the razor, but I use the linen side of the strop before moving over to the leather anyway. As I am still new to straight razor shaving, I just assume that the linen side is there for a reason. Do you use it?

Mine isn't pasted right now, I do have some Crox, but haven't decided if I want to paste it on the strop just yet.

Genuine linen is said to have a small amount of abrasiveness to it, it's not recommended to use paste on real linen. I know it improves a coticule edge, that's for sure.

Tony Miller

Speaking of horse butts…
Genuine linen is said to have a small amount of abrasiveness to it, it's not recommended to use paste on real linen. I know it improves a coticule edge, that's for sure.

Using an abrasive paste on linen will certainly not hurt anything but since it already seems to have abrasive qualities it would be a bit of overkill to apply another abrasive over it. Whatever paste was applied would then be doing all the work so why pay more or search out the real thing just to cover it up. If I was going to use pastes I would just select one of the many cotton or poly materials in use or use another leather strop for pastes.

Tony

I bought a hand-made strop from the mountains of Colorado when I got my razor, and the "linen" seems to be a thick nylon or polyester (needs to be melted and sniffed for a Rocky Mountain high). I'm a bit reticent to use it. What will it do to my blade? Should I be using it? Is it abrasive or slippery? Should I put paste on it?

From a vintage barber manual:
Canvas Strop