What's new

Using the same brands together.

I'm not having a good time of things at the moment so approached a well known shaving supplier for some advice.

As well as going over pre-shave prep, razor angle and skin tautness, one other piece of advise was 'Use branded products together". i.e. if you are using Prorazo shave cream, also use the pre-shave prep and the aftershave balm.

The rationale for this is that all the products are designed to be used together, so they complement and help each other.

Now, I have not been shaving long and I have certainly not used a wide variety of products and whilst this advice seems to make sense, I am not an expert and it could well be marketing hype.

What makes me pause is that I don't see this advice advocated here, indeed in the SOTD section there seems to be a wide variety of products used in the same shave.

So I will defer to those wiser and more experienced that I - Marketing hype or is there an element of truth to this advice?

Jules

Personally, I believe that is straight up marketing hype. After all, you were asking a supplier....

Maybe there is some slight logic to the idea that a preshave lotion or oil and a shaving cream might be designed to work together, since they are actually on your face at the same time. I don't really buy that, though, since the creams/soaps are all designed (Hydrolast aside) to be used independently - no preshave needed.

And when it comes to aftershaves, then it is total, absolute malarchy. Aftershave is to treat and condition your face after shaving. It has nothing to do with what cream or soap you used, and everything to do with your skin, and how much damage you did to it while shaving.

-Mo

I'm not having a good time of things at the moment so approached a well known shaving supplier for some advice.