Thread: Electric razor vs safety blades

Default Electric razor vs safety blades

Hi everyone,
    when I graduated from high school my parent got me a electric razor. To this day I can still shave with it. Now I'm having a hard time understanding how safety blades and straight razors that are solid metal loose their edge and become dull after getting in contact with skin.

What are the blades in a electric razor made of and why do they last this long compared to manual razors?
    BOTOC

You are supposed to change the blades in the electric razor periodically..... all metal edges dull eventually, there is no miracle metal in your electric razor...

Deep South, USA. Between Muscle Shoals and Sand Mountain

No offense meant, but I think you have come to accept a dreadful shave as normal.

Here's why...
    Think "Lawn Mower".... it doesn't have to be sharp to chop.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Razor vs Electric shaver.jpg 
Views:	96 
Size:	108.2 KB 
ID:	251864
    - Rich
    Proud Member: Knights of the Veg Table
    Proud Member: Cult of Arko
    Participant 2012 and 2013 Brown Leaf Mark Tinskey LE Pipe
    Participant 2012 Rudy Vey Shavemac D01 Keyhole

Cool pics!
    "Shaving like a banker...Lilac Vegetal!" Clutch

Images

You're supposed to replace the cutting parts every year or so on an electric.
    If you don't then, as said, you're just slowing getting used to a lousier and lousier shave.
    Just call me Chris.

Images

They should include those pics on every Braun sold...
    Paul aka Mad Man. M&F Chief Grouo Buy 2013. Former steward of the Newbie forum.

Quote Originally Posted by britewhiteram View Post
    You are supposed to change the blades in the electric razor periodically..... all metal edges dull eventually, there is no miracle metal in your electric razor...
    ^ This. If you like the electric now then try replacing its blades.

Quote Originally Posted by Go West Young Man View Post