What's new

The Perfect Dopp Kit - My Take on an Age Old Question

Building the Perfect Dopp Kit.

After using an L.L. Bean hanging organizer for the last decade, I've decided I wanted to return to the more traditional travel toiletry kits. The following post documents my (ongoing) rationale and purchases to meet that end.

First of all, when I graduated in '71 from high school one of my traditional presents was a Dopp-type toiletry travel kit. It was constructed with a green nylon exterior and and had a lighter color waterproof interior lining. It served me well until '00 when my wife convinced me to buy the L.L. Bean kit. http://www.llbean.com/llb/shop/73883?feat=personal%20organizer-SR0 I've never really took a shine to the L.L. Bean organizer. Sure, it worked, but just never clicked with me. Of course, when I got the new organizer, I trashed the old kit.

The wife and I are taking a two week vacation in Northern Minnesota this year, spending a week each at two different lakes in cabins. I decided I'd had enough of using something I didn't like. Time to build a new kit that was perfect for my needs.