What's new

New Every Man Jack Shave Cream First Look and Mini-Review

Hey everyone! I just received my EMJ shave cream in the mail today and had to give a shot. So first off, I am new to DE shaving and have actually only shaved with a DE razor twice before today. So here was today's setup:

$photo(1).jpg
Took a nice shower with EMJ Cedarwood body wash and washed face with EMJ face scrub in signature mint. Unfortantely, I don't have any EMJ shampoo or this would have been an entire EMJ event. The brush is a VDH which I think is breaking in rather well (new badger brush is en route). Razor is a Gillette off the bay. I think it is a ball end, age unknown. This is my first use with this one, coming off a Weishi, and I loaded it with a fresh Dorco blade (sampler pack also en route).

$photo(2).jpg
The cream itself feels rather nice and smells awesome. Very similar to the cedarwood body wash and face lotion. It was a little warm, as the package literally just came off the UPS truck. So I think it will firm up some once it cools down.

$photo(3).jpg
My apologies for the blur! My lather making skills are still in the works but I think I did a fairly nice job.

On to the shave: The lather went on nice and smooth and I was able to do a nice two pass (WTG/WTG) for what I would consider a DFS. The razor glided across my skin with no irritation and a lovely smell. I finished up the shave with a nice rinse, some witch hazel and at last the cedarwood face lotion. No burn, no irritation, no redness and a pleasant smell that I hope will appease the fiancee.

I will continue using the cream and report back any news I have. Also if anyone wants to order anything EMJ, I have a promo code! :thumbup:

Thanks for the review, I have a tub on the way. I really like EMJ products and currently use the cool mint face wash and post shave lotion and the citrus shampoo.