Thread: Rookie Needs Help With Shoulderless Johan Engstrom SR Advice

Default Rookie Needs Help With Shoulderless Johan Engstrom SR Advice

First I will admit that Im a senior guy that is a DE shaver my entire life. Last few months I have been buying a few straights and enjoy learning about them, being a lurker of this forum helped . Couple weeks ago I purchased this razor at auction and was so rusty couldnt read anything on the blade. Now that I can see it is an Engstrom Straight Razor Eskilstuna Sweden. I have read many things about this maker from this board and all agree he made good razors.
    Seems however all examples I see are frame back not shoulderless wedge like mine.

Being a complete noviceI have no desire to do anymore to this razor. However I would appreciate any and all input about it from this knowledgeable forum.

Please help me understandwhat I have, whether it is good or average and how to restore if it is worth it? Also what does the D.S. & K. represent on the tang? Enjoy the learning in many areas and this one is no exception, Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1.jpg   2.jpg   3.jpg   4.jpg   5.jpg  

Images

i have or had a Joh. Enhgstrom also with the same tang DS&K. i don't think i ever found out, at least not that i can recall.

here is another one (not mine)

http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthr...nnemora-f-back
    --Jon. "Love me some 14s"

Maybe this new thread may spark some interest in this maker I hope. Again thanks for the referral however that engstrom is a frameback hope this one can shed some light.
    Last edited by Whiskers1111; 05-04-2012 at 12:04 PM.

Images

I wouldn't pay to restore that. .. sorry missed that part of your question..

I would put that in average quality. Nice, but that's it imho

I think I misunderstood your post about not desiring to do more.. vs worth restoring and how.

Some wet dry sandpaper up through the grits would be the norm if you wanted to clean it up more.