What's new

Mikes Natural Tallow/Lanolin vs Veggie Formula Review and Comparison

I had read about Mike's Natural soaps here, and to be honest, I usually joke about "artisan" makers as there are a lot of bad ones out there, and I've had some less than good experiences. Then I heard that one of the my top 3 soaps, Calani, was actually an artisan maker. This got me thinking. After reading some of the reviews, and having 1 too many Gin and Tonics I decided to order some samples of Mikes Natural Soaps. And I'm glad I did.

For my tests, I used a Hart Steel 7/8 Square point razor. I did this for 2 reasons. 1) I'm a predominantly straight razor shaver, and 2) Straights require a better lather than a DE. That is my personal opinion, but while in my experience I can get away with a lesser lather using a DE, a straight requires the best. And there are a number of products which are highly regarded here but are no longer in my den for that reason alone.

The scents have been described elsewhere, so I'm not going to go into that. The samples are 1 oz. I haven't weighed them, but for $1, they are a nice size that let you get an accurate idea of how it performs. I smashed one into my lathering bowl, which I use for any soap samples that I'm testing out. Its not a soft soap, but its somewhat pliable. Nowhere near a croap, but a tad on the softer side of hard soaps. Think a Arko, or a tad softer.