What's new

Question about stropping

Hey Gents

Yesterday I was playing around with my strop and a blade that I had that needs to be honed .It is no where near shave ready just wanted to practice stropping as I am still very new to straights. so as I was stropping I notice a small flake chipped off of the edge . I had the strop taught and was not applying any pressure what could I have done wrong .I was also moving pretty slow .

Thanks for the help

Nick

I'm going to agree with AFDavis11 on this one.

Assuming that it is a vintage blade and that you didn't flip the blade over its cutting edge on the leather (and we know you would never pull such a 'no-no' as that) then it is possible that this old blade had some imperfections that chose that moment to manifest themselves.

Rust or corrosion is often the culprit here. Especially surface corrosion from neglect can often dig deeper into the steel than might be expected.

Also, I have seen vintage blades which show minute 'gas voids' in the steel. You can think of these as little bubble holes within the body of the steel. When these occur near the finely ground edge of a straight razor they do represent a weak point in the steel and can (especially in conjunction with a bit of corrosion) lead to cracking or chipping.

A last very important point to remember is that your razor strop should be absolutely clean and free of dirt when you are using it. If, for example, a grain of sand or, or what have you, ends up on the leather of the strop, then when you pass the razor across it that grain would all it takes to damage the razor's edge.

I'm going to agree with AFDavis11 on this one.

Assuming that it is a vintage blade and that you didn't flip the blade over its cutting edge on the leather (and we know you would never pull such a 'no-no' as that) then it is possible that this old blade had some imperfections that chose that moment to manifest themselves.