What's new

Bob's Shave Diary

I've only be straight shaving for a couple of weeks. I got the Sight Unseen kit from Larry @ Whipped Dog and I also got another straight and honing films from rossvtaylor to start things out.

I bought a 220 sanding block yesterday to buff the slight nicks on my poor man's strop since I'd already put a few marks on it.

I have to say that straight shaving is following the same pattern in some ways as DE/SE/Injectors. I seem to do really well on the left side of my face, even though I'm shaving with my left hand which I've never done before, and I'm getting irritation and a couple of small cuts on the right side of my face.

Anyway, today felt like a bit of a breakthrough so that's why I decided to do a diary. I shaved with the straight I got from Ross, Maca Root Cream, Thater 4125/1 brush, alum, and The Body Shop Arber ASB. I only attempted two WTG pass over my entire face. I didn't come close to BBS or even DFS but I didn't get any nicks or irritation and I felt really comfortable holding the razor and doing all the skin stretching needed to do a shave. It just felt good.

Oh, and I also stropped 30 times each side before I started and that goes with the 30 times each side I did yesterday after fixing my strop.

Great start. All the best. The sight-unseen is how I started out with straights as well. No better way to do it IMHO.

The right side continues to be a problem but I know it is a matter of taking my time and focusing on what I'm doing. The key for me right now seems to be focusing on WTG passes.

Great shave today. I used "The Wonder" razor that I received in the Great PIF #5 that I honed myself on films and then stropped around 40-50 times each side, Maca Root cream, Thater 4125/1 brush, alum, QED Tobacco ASB, and Odori EdT to finish up my routine.