What's new

Recommend a pen

So, I have a Rotring 600 in M. Love it but I wish it had a F nib. I also have a Rotring Initial in F and I do love it, but I prefer to hold and use the 600.

Whatever, that's just background.

Anyway, I'm thinking about a new pen. I have obsessed over the Pilot VP for years but have never been able to convince myself to drop the cash. I think I would get a F nib.

Now, I'm looking at the TWSBI 540. Love the looks of it. Price is right. What nib though? I'm thinking F... I'm an engineer by trade, and I can't stand stub nibs, broad nibs, flex nibs... I want my lettering fine and consistent. I am also liking the Pilot Prera, an I have always loved the Lamy 2000. I know I'm kinda all over the place on price, but of these 4, which one should I consider? I'm kinda back and forth between the VP and the 540 right now. I really just wish I could get a F nib for my 600, but that's a pipe dream.

Jeff

It's all personal preference at this stage, but I am considering a Lamy 2000 at this moment, and it would be my pick of the ones you mentioned (MAYBE aside from the VP, but thats a whole other price level). I, too, am an engineer. While I like neat legible writing I intend to get a small-medium cursive italic ground into the Lamy for some line variation. Maybe a 0.7.

Of the four the OP listed, I only have the TWSBI. It's a great pen, and smart choice. I tried the F nib, but then bought a B nib and sent it to be ground to a 0.6 CI nib. It's one of may favorite writers! I have the clear Demo filled with Waterman's Florida Blue and it looks fantastic!

In general, if you're looking for fine, consistent lettering (the kind desired by engineers, I imagine), I would really focus on the Japanese pens. Their fine nibs are very fine -- extra-fine by western standards -- and are consistent. Pilot in particular makes fantastic fine nibs. German nibs, on the other hand, tend to run wider and are less consistent. Just my experience.

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather