What's new

Future Razor Purchases

I have been using the Merkur 38C for a couple of months now and enjoy it, but do not get the perfect shave I desire yet, probably a lack of skill at this point.

I am wondering what the natural progression on razors is, I have been looking at the vision, progress, and futur, which are the best to go to next?

Thanks for your help

I don't think there is something like a 'natural progression'. My advice would be to perfect your technique with the 38C (itself a truly magnificent razor) and only THEN move on to a new razor.
Adjustables only increase the number of variables, which makes things unnecessary complicated for a beginning DE shaver. I started out on the Futur myself and had to go through a year of miserable shaves before switching to a fixed head Merkur and perfecting my technique. Now I have 7 Merkurs and can get BBS with any of them.

Moral of the story: you don't just need the right tool for the job, you (first) need the right technique for the tool.

The 38c is a great razor, in fact I used mine for the first time in ages the past two mornings and whilst I had a close and comfortable shave on both occasions it was nowhere near as close as the vision. I have recently been trying all my 'other' razors of late including gilette adjustables and slims as well as my progress and can honestly say that for me the vision is unbeatable. However I should say that I also use feathers as no other blade is sharp enough and that combined with the vision is what I come back to every time. But as is always said (although I'm not sure why, as if others opinions aren't wanted the question shouldn't be asked in the first place!) you may find that the vision is not for you......I very much doubt it though.:wink2: