What's new

Big Mama or Big Daddy

Question for those that have used them and especially to those that have used both. Which one would you buy Big Mama (2.5") or the Big Daddy (3") ? If you could give your reasons why as well I'd appreciate it. Thanks.

Just in case, I'm refering to the strops from starshaving.

Big Daddy. The 3" strop isn't so large that it takes up half the bathroom, but it large enough that most razors fit without having to use the x stroke. Overall, the quality IMHO of the Star Shaving strop is very nice, so I guess whichever you choose will be a good decision.

I bought the Big Daddy. He's correct. I can lay the entire blade across and not use x-strokes. Even a fool could strop on this thing. I figure it saves a few passes too, because all the blade is in contact, all the time.

I'm still a noob though....

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
I bought the Big Daddy. He's correct. I can lay the entire blade across and not use x-strokes. Even a fool could strop on this thing. I figure it saves a few passes too, because all the blade is in contact, all the time.

I'm still a noob though....

Regardless of how wide your strop is, I would encourage you to learn to strop with at least a little x-stroke in there. It will ensure all of the blade is stropped, and will help when you encounter a warped blade or a cupped strop.:smile:

I'm a fan of 3" strops. I don't nick them as bad as the 2.5" ones I have. Agreed on the little X-stroke for the 3, but I find it is easier to control than on the 2.5.

This will be my second strop. I have finished nicking my poor man's strop and would like to get one that is a little longer and wider. I've heard good things about the starshaving strops. My concern, I guess, is cupping on the 3". Some here have said they don't have a problem with cupping on their Big Daddys. Just double checking that and whether it's worth it to spend a bit more on a 3".