What's new

KJ's Straight Shaving Adventures....

I have been a DE user for the last 2 or so years, and can confidently say that I have mastered the skill. Consistantly getting great shaves, quickly and efficiently. Time for a challenge.

I have been cruising the bay, and the forums here looking for the best way to get started, and pulled the trigger on a ebay auction which netted me a Straight that is in good condition, and a few other bits. Pictures here: http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showth...ebruary-2012?p=3860357&highlight=#post3860357

Being a novice I have also placed an order from Larry for a sight unseen deal, so I will have the basics of what I need, in good working order as the strop that came with the other auction was not worth bothering with. I am currently waiting for that to arrive.

Johnmrson has kindly offered to hone the wug for me, so I have sent it down to him for some TLC.

My ebay finger got itchy again and pulled the trigger on a NOS SansSoucci Straight, one of these: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/30066491...sid=p3984.m1439.l2649&clk_rvr_id=317508296700 Now waiting for that to arrive, and on a Gold Dollar to see what all the fuss was about.

I then said to myself. "hmm, I'm going to need to hone these razors...." So I bought a coticule and a slurry stone....

All this before I have laid blade to face.....

I think I'm a gonner. Is there any cure for SRAD?

I'll update when I actually manage to get started!

Lol. Wait until you start shaving with a straight. I'm only 25 shaves in and am planning purchases.

Best of luck learning the straight.

I got a PM from John last night telling me the WUG would be in the mail back to me today! Hopefully it should be in my hands tomorrow (as long as Aust Post does their job properly!)

Cant wait!

There is an interesting thread on sanssoucis on the 'General Straight Razor Talk' forum entitled "Sanssoucis?" if you go back a page.