What's new

"What was the first Shavetool that clicked for you?" Contest.

While most of us enjoyed our first shave with traditional shaving gear, There is something special about the first shavetool that you try that really clicks for you, be it a soap you love, a brush that just works for you, or a razor that is just stellar. So, in honor of beginnings, both of Shavetools.com's first month and of your own early days wet shaving, we're holding a small contest.

To enter, share the first shavetool that just clicked for you, perhaps with a short anecdote about it. The contest will run until the end of the month. The winner (CONUS only, sorry ) will be determined randomly via random.org, and will receive a Vie-Long Boar brush.

Last edited:
I'm just a noob, but have been considering wet shaving for a while now. I finally bought a VDH deluxe kit from Rite Aid for $11 about a week ago and have been getting better shaves and enjoying my morning shave more than ever before. I'm going to order a better brush and DE razor soon, but for now Im enjoying working on my technique and trying new products from local stores.

Great contest Sargon! I would say that the first thing that clicked for me was when I tried my 2nd cream. I had been using Proraso for about a month, but couldnt get a good lather. So I went out and bought a tube of KMF and thats when I first saw the "explosion" of lather that i had seen members talk about. I took some lessons away from the KMF and have been making great lather with any soap or cream ever since!

I had been DE shaving for a few months and was having the usual breaking-in period struggles.
Upgrading my brush a few times helped, getting away from the cheaper drugstore soaps helped, but I was still ending up with a torn up face more often than not.