What's new

Chin shaving tips, anyone??

I'm still pretty new at straight shaving, but don't seem to be having many problems with my neck area, upper lip or cheeks, but my chin area still gives me some trouble. Specifically, the area from right below my lip and down.

It seems like the problem stems from that area being relatively 'unyielding' for lack of a better word----kind of hard and bony when the skin is made taut there!! I always end up with a few small 'weepers' there it seems like, and I haven't figured out which direction is the best for the tip of my chin either. I feel pretty confident in my stropping and honing, as it shaves well and is comfortable------this one area just gives me some trouble.

I try to pull the areas as flat as possible so I'm not shaving a 'knob', so to speak. Any input would be welcome. Thanks.

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
What is your angle on the chin? Flatter is better for me.

On WTG I make the Jay Leno chin and tilt my head up as I make somewhat longer strokes. As I go "around the horn" the razor rotates from perpendicular to the floor to parallel as makes the pass from under lip to adams apple.

Second pass is XTG ear to chin

Last is ATG-opposite of the WTG. But I keep the blade flat against my face. One caveat is that when the blade is totally flat on the skin, I find a LITTLE pressure(butterfly's footsteps worth) is needed to just sink the edge into the same plane as the whiskers. Alternatively raising the spine slightly will accomplish the same. YMMV greatly, and since you are a newer shaver
save the flat with slight pressure for later :).

These areas are tough to shave, and take quite a bit of patience and practice to get them down. Have you tried puffing some air into the area? Or sticking your tongue there to raise it out a bit? I've found that doing either makes it easier to shave.