What's new

The Art of Shaving...

Newbie here, so don't flog me please. I'm new to the game and i started out with the AOS starter kit which includes a brush, pre-shave oil (love the smell), shave cream, and after shave balm. I recently purchased the Merkur 38c and the Edwin Jagger de89 (?). I had my first shave yesterday and it was extremely close and smooth in comparison to the cartridge shaves. I did a three pass shave down, across, and against. Needless to say it was quite enjoyable. I received several compliments throughout the day from my gf and mother on how smooth and soft my face was. I found that the after shave balm was exceptional in comparison to what my face felt like from the cartridges and believed that THAT was what made my face feel like silk. My question is,

Is AOS a quality store with quality product or is it more of a generic? Is this quality stuff? It seems like it is but my experience is ZERO. Are there better balms out there? I cant get over how smooth and silky my face is after using the AOS balm.

Feed back would be great. So what do you think.

P.S. If it wasnt for AOS i would have never made the plunge and went to DE.

Attachments

• $20120114_104703.jpg
    $20120114_104703.jpg
    23.1 KB · Views: 224
Art of Shaving is top shelf.
Their soap is some of the best in the world. The cream is top of the line too.
The aftershave is just ok. I only use it because I love the fragrance of their Sandalwood so much. I water it down a little and it's better.
If you like, then it's good. If you don't, then it isn't.

AoS's cream and soap are among the best currently being produced. Problem is, they're priced accordingly - you can get stuff that works nearly or as well for half the price.

I will never be without one of their soaps in my den. It'd just be wrong. Everything else, I can take or leave.

I think their aftershave is fantastic. Truly top notch along with their creams and soaps.