What's new

The art of pipes, cigars, and wetshaving

Well, I remember grandpa and dad doing the shave prep with a brush, soap, and a DE razor. Although I'm closer to 50 than 40, I don't remember doing the wetshave thing.

I remember my first pipe and my first cigar - both almost 30 years ago. I have grown to enjoy the ritual that goes into both as I prepare for a relaxing smoke - and those things which make both the pipe and the cigar a great experience - that and of course, the smoking of them. Relaxing and enjoying them comes as part of the whole ritual.

I used to be a cigarette smoker, and there is a similarity to smoking a cigarette that is much like shaving with a multiblade cartridge and shave cream from a can. It gets the job done, but there is no "personality" in either.

Now that I am a newbie to wetshaving, there is a certain similarity in the preparation and ultimate shave. It is the total experience that makes it enjoyable, as the ritual gives personality to shaving.

I have a teenage son who was starting to shave before I had begun to experience wetshaving. I bought him a Mach3, a can of shave goop, showed him what to do. It was a chore I prepared him for, but without fanfare and without much love for it. "You make your face presentable by doing this. Get it done quickly and get on with your day. Wow! What a terrible father I was. But it was because I had never been given a love for care of my own face.

In retrospect, when he was born I chose a put a couple premium, hand-rolled cigars (2 Cubans and 2 Domestics) aside in a humidor to age until he is old enough for me to sit down and enjoy one with me - one each for him and for me. He's seen the ritual of cutting, lighting, and finally smoking a fine cigar. When he is ready, I had plans to teach him how to do so himself - carefully snip or punch the cigar, toast the foot, light it, sit back and savor the flavor.