What's new

Using vintage and antique gear.

Legion

Staff member
Gentlemen and ladies. I have noticed that many of you have been mentioning that you are still right into the old stuff. Equipment, and even processes.

I thought I would make this thread for you to show off and have a chat about any cool old gear and techniques you still use.

Personally, my background is in photography, and I spent many years working in photographic preservation sections for museums and archives, so I am particularly interested in any antique photographic methods that are still being kept alive by you guys.

Who are still getting their hands wet?

Last edited:
The only thing I can mention is an Olymput 35 SP black version I'm waiting for. I'll be using this as a camera for snapshots at social happenings, family stuff, friends...just when using my digital camera is too much.

Ohh, and getting the negatives developed to physical images will be much better than my digital files, I think. I remember when we albumed photos, and didn't upload them to flickr. Better times, better times.....

Legion

Staff member
Yep, I used to teach darkroom printing to adult students. Watching their faces when that image first appears in the tray was always nice. It had that kind of "magic" vibe that computers are lacking.

I am going to wait until I see my grandmother, and ask if she still has my grandfather's, mayherestinpeace, shave brush. If she does I will be asking Mr. Vey if he can do a restoration on it.

I have gotten into craft microbrews, especially British ales. That, and the classic pulp fiction stories from the turn of the 20th century. I have now gone back even further and am avidly reading Baroness Orczy's Scarlet Pimpernel series.