What's new

Futur Equivalent Setting to EJ DE89

I may be jumping the gun here, but I expect to have a Futur in a few days :)001_smile). I've been using an EJ DE89 almost exclusively for over 6 months now. In time I'll experiment with the Futur, but to start with it makes sense to me to set it to an opening relatively like the razor I'm used to. Anyone out there have both and can tell me what setting on the Futur is about the same as the EJ DE 89?

Also, I know lots of people find that some blades were better in one type of razor than another. If any of you have both of these razors, do you find much difference in how blades perform in them? My favorites in my EJ are Iridiums, GBEs, Perma-Sharps, 7 O'Clock Yellows and Blues, and Meds. Do you find that you like any of these in your EJ DE89 but not in your Futur, and are there any that you didn't like in your EJ that you like a lot in your Futur?

EJ DE89 has a blade gap of 0.76 mm.
The Futur at its lowest setting (1) has a blade gap of 1.12 mm.

+1. I have the Muhle R89 and a Futur. I never would of even thought of trying to approximate the DE89 with a Futur. But I would say use the lowest setting.

Not to try to freak you out but be careful with your Futur. It is a little different from other DE razors. Here are a couple of tips that might keep you from slicing your hands.

Hint 1: When installing a blade put the cover on a towel on your counter. Put the blade in the cover, then take the handle and press it onto the cover until it snaps into place, keeping your hands well away from the head.