What's new

Anyone tried Pilot Varsity disposables?

Hi,
As a school student I am constantly writing. I was wondering if anyone has tried the Pilot Varsity disposable fountain pens? They aren't cheap at over two bucks a pen, however better than taking a $30 pen to school....

I currently use rollerballs, and they do work well, however I have heard Fountain Pens glide rather easily, and as we all know, anything to mitigate the hand cramps of writing an essay is something good.

Cheers

I like them.

They 'can' be refilled. I've seen videos on YouTube.

I don't know about helping with hand cramps, but it would be an inexpensive test drive.

They write well and are not a huge investment.

I've only ever tried the medium NIB and felt they lay down too heavy a line for my taste.

I just bought one this week to try out. I like it a lot. I normally write with a Cross Century ball point, and I find the fountain pen to be a nice change. It is a larger diameter than the Century, so that might help with your cramps. If you're using a small diameter pen. The line is thicker than the Cross I'm used to.

I'm using them right now for all my daily writing at the office and my evening journal entries. I normally use a Waterman Phileas ballpoint and have for years, but this forum got me thinking more and more about making the jump to a fountain pen. Based on my research here and other websites, I figured the Pilot Varsity was a nice, inexpensive way to try a fountain pen. So far, I'm liking it.

Cheers.

At a comparable price is the Platinum preppy. It takes cartridges or can be converted to an eyedropper filler with a little grease and an O ring. Check out Goulet Pen Co.

I find that the Pilot Varsity and the preppy have pretty much the same characteristics. Both seem to be a good buy and a fine entry level pen.