What's new

Rover 2 LE, Duke 3, or Chubby 2 that is the question...

This has been hashed over probably a million times and I have done a fair amount of research on the matter but thought I would ask some of you Simpsons brush owners with experience what your final thoughts would be for a all purpose brush. I have a couple inexpensive (cost effective) brushes that have served me well in my new adventures into wet shaving but was looking to experience a higher end brush. I was ready to pull the trigger on a Duke 3 in Best with all the rave reviews on this board and was only thrown off by the Chubby 2. However, with the availability of the limited edition Rover 2 in Best at WCS this appears to be a viable alternative as an all purpose (face lather / bowl lather) type of brush. Gentlemen, your thoughts please.

I have no experience with the Rover but some find the Chubbys to be too dense. (Not me)

The Duke 3 gets a lot of love here and it is a superb all around brush. They seem to be getting loftier as of late so look for one with a shorter loft and be content.

I have the Duke 3 in Best and the Chubby 2 in 3 band Super. The Chubby 2 is big and dense and I love it but can see that some would think it too big. The Duke 3 is an excellent all around brush.

I currently have the Duke 3 and Rover 2, and had a chubby 2 at one point. I know everyone loves the chubbies, but it was just too dense for me. It was tough to get the lather out,and I simply didn't enjoy it. I love my duke 3 and its probably my favorite - great flow through and just enough of a scrub without being scritchy - and most importantly not too dense. Same with the rover. But the rover is an absolutely fantastic brush that is every bit as good as the duke 3. In reality, I think I like the handle shape of the rover better than the duke, and If I were looking to buy one today I'd probably lean to the rover.

Marco

B&B's Man in Italy