What's new

Completed my first DE shave.

J

Jayblah

Hello all,

I completed my first wetshave approximately 30 minutes ago. Presumably, my wetshave experience was fairly good. I never truly shaved to begin with, so I can't accurately compare wetshaving to the newfangled Mach-10XT1000 shaving techniques so pervasive in the world.

Since I am new to this, I started with simple supplies and inexpensive materials that weren't too difficult to attain. My techniques derived mostly from reading this forum and watching Mantic's YouTube videos.

My gear:
Brush: Crabtree & Evelyn Best Badger
Razor: Merkur Heavy Duty
Blade: I used a Derby blade from my WCS sampler pack for my inaugural wetshave
Cream: Kiss My Face Moisture Shave Cool Mint
First aid: Styptic pencil

Note the absence of an aftershave; more on that later.

My face:

Unfortunately, I have acne prone skin at the ripe old age of 28. I follow a skincare regimen using two topical medications (Duac in the morning, Differin at night). Because of these medications, my skin in general feels very dry after washing. To combat this I put non-comedogenic lotion on my face in the morning after the Duac. I opted not to use any pre-shave or aftershave lotions because I would prefer to put as few chemicals on my face as possible due to my sensitivity. Further, I haven't seen any non-comedogenic aftershaves so I decided I would continue to use my lotion instead as a post-shave lubricant.

I have very faint, wispy, light hair on the majority of my "beard area." I can not grow a full mustache, and the sides of my cheeks/jaw have longer yet still wispy, thin hairs. Thankfully, it also takes its time growing, so after a shave, I'm good for a few days before the first new wisps emerge. The only place where my beard grows "thick and coarse" is on my chin and the underside of my jaw. Truthfully, my beard isn't much of a beard at all, even on the chin. Its actually pretty pathetic. :tongue:

My feeble attempt:

Pre-shave: