What's new

Hand made knives

I know we've got a few knife and blade aficionados around here, but I haven't seen any mention of Cut Brooklyn yet. What a great looking shop & set of knives. I don't own any but would love to visit his shop & check some of them out first hand. He is part of the made by hand group & those videos are also pretty inspiring. Hope you let us know if you end up with one of these excellent knives.

I've never heard of this maker. It's pretty nice looking stuff, but there are lots of other options in his price range.

The knife forums have been talking about Cut Brooklyn for a while- The maker Joel is pretty much self taught. At the end of the day the most optimistic description of these knives would be one of "Mid tech" manufacture. There is no forging, rather they are cut out of sheet steel, sent to the maker, are ground, then sent out for heat treatment, sent back,then synthetic handles are applied. The knives are basically flat ground, and are a somewhat hybrid in profile to the western/European/Japenese style.

They get a lot of buzz from chefs who are upgrading from crappy European style knives. I have used an early one briefly and hated it.

The knife forums have been talking about Cut Brooklyn for a while- The maker Joel is pretty much self taught. At the end of the day the most optimistic description of these knives would be one of "Mid tech" manufacture. There is no forging, rather they are cut out of sheet steel, sent to the maker, are ground, then sent out for heat treatment, sent back,then synthetic handles are applied. The knives are basically flat ground, and are a somewhat hybrid in profile to the western/European/Japenese style.

They get a lot of buzz from chefs who are upgrading from crappy European style knives. I have used an early one briefly and hated it.