What's new

Greetings and a few questions from a Newbie

Hi All,

This is a great forum. I've learned so much by searching and reading. Thanks to you all for your liberal sharing. I can tell how excited you are wet shaving "the old fashioned" way.

By way of introduction, I'll tell you how I came to find B&B. I have been using a Panasonic wet/dry shaver for several years with shaving cream. It provides an okay shave, but never got my neck area very well. I always trimmed my neck area with a cartridge razor, usually a two-blade Sensor Excel cartridge. I didn't use the cartridge on my whole face because it really irritated my skin -- and I didn't understand why until I started reading here.

I became fed up with the "state-of-the-art" shaving technology when I got the new Gillette Fusion sample razor in the mail. This is so ridiculous as to be beyond the pale. The two-blade cartridges are getting harder to find, I will NOT pay $3.50 for a touch-up razor! And none of us believe they will stop at 5 blades. It is shameless marketing for a public gone crazy for the next techno-thrill. If 2 is good, 3 is better, 4 must be the best, and 5, well it is off the charts! I'm in the computer industry and really like technology, but there is a limit.

I think I did a web search for "Gillette Fusion silly" and ended up at a B&B page where I began to explore shaving as my grandfather did it. Nobody ever told me that the proper shave cream and brush and lather and angle and (no) pressure would make a difference.

Well, I took the plunge. I read reviews and recommendations and decided to start with the Merkur Vision 2000 (or 2007? - no set screw). Even though many said it was too aggressive to start with, I assured myself I would "dial it down" and only work my way up as I increased my skill. Besides, my bathroom is too small for me to contract RAD. :001_smile To go with my new DE, I got a nice pure badger brush, some Taylor's avocado, an alum block and some styptic, just in case.