What's new

Is my brush trash?

Hey guys,

Just started DE shaving last night, and have been loving it thus far.

That said, as I am a poor college student I bought a crappy $10 brush off of Amazon. It's a Tweeerman's Men's Shaving Brush, supposedly badger hair.

The thing has been losing a decent amounts of hairs (10 or so each use) every time I lather. Is it trash? Is an upgrade needed? Are B&B members going to shudder at the fact that I bought such a brush?

Impart on me your wisdom, gentlemen.

-Tim

Last edited by a moderator:

Mike H

Instagram Famous
Tweezerman is a great beginner brush, I used mine for several months before upgrading. New brushes sometimes loose hairs, I would keep using it and see if it settles down.
And welcome to B&B

The brush may stop shedding, or it may not. Either way, it is a pretty good value and can make good lather. For now, concentrate on that.

All these troubles with brushes, shedding 10 hairs each use, flobby bristles, breaking bristles, ect., ect.

All the while my little Turk #6 just keeps on doing its job with no complaints, all for $2.45. Am I missing something here?

Tweezerman was my 1st brush..now my wife...with a few others of course...still works well

Tweezerman is a great beginner brush, I used mine for several months before upgrading. New brushes sometimes loose hairs, I would keep using it and see if it settles down.
And welcome to B&B

They are decent brushes. I started with a boar before going to the tweezerman... the Tweezerman is a fine brush for that price point and can make good lather. You should be set with that for a few months, if not longer before you get the itch to upgrade to something better.

Tim, you don't "need" to upgrade that brush necessarily. It's just a lathering tool.

If you decided to replace it, I would steer you toward an Omega or Semogue boar. They're of high quality without breaking the bank ($10-20).