Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Aristocrat assistance/guidance requested

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    238
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Default Aristocrat assistance/guidance requested

    I've recently acquired a 30s Aristocrat in seemingly nice condition. When the razor is in the open position, with the silo doors open, I can freely open and close the doors just by pushing up and down on the TTO knob at the bottom of the handle, thereby sliding the rod in and out. They just flap open and shut. I can not do this with any of my Superspeeds or Slim. Turning the knob opens and closes the silo doors as it does on all of my other TTO razors. With or without blade in place they close evenly and securely.

    Is this normal, by design, or is there something broken or missing internally?

    Any knowledge, information or help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    257
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    This

    http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthr...TO-Repair-Tool

    I'd personally remove the cutter and use a copper washer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Le Boréon France and USA.
    Posts
    3,032
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Can't you just crimp the ring?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Le Boréon France and USA.
    Posts
    3,032
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlkKnight View Post
    This

    http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthr...TO-Repair-Tool

    I'd personally remove the cutter and use a copper washer.
    LOL, Ok guess that answered that question, should have looked at that one first.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    238
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Thread Starter

    Default

    Can't do it to a newly acquired Aristocrat. SCARED!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    257
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    it's broken in it's current state.

    You will most likely damage the gold plate though :(

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    238
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Thread Starter

    Default

    Interestingly, if I put a blade in it and tighten it down it looks and shaves just fine. (?) I really don't want to damage it further. What to do...?

Similar Threads

  1. 1930's Aristocrat - Assistance in Dating
    By jtadmin in forum Double Edged Razors
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-28-2011, 09:36 AM
  2. Looking for guidance
    By VT_Hokie in forum Safety Razor Blades
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-08-2010, 01:07 PM
  3. Aristocrat ID assistance request. Or is this even an Aristocrat?
    By _MementoMori_ in forum Double Edged Razors
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-03-2010, 12:41 PM
  4. Photo assistance respectfully requested
    By strat1117 in forum The Darkroom
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 01:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.