What's new

Hi Everyone! I want to start DE shaving, but I have NO idea where to start!

Hi Everyone! I'm new to the forum, but I have been reading/lurking here for a while. I've finally decided that it's time to take the leap and start my DE shaving days!

I've read lots of the tutorials and how to's on the process but I'm totally lost on what components I should start out with. I've been shaving for about ten years now and have usually been using a Mach 3 cartridge based razor. I found my Grandfather's old badger hair brush and all the wonderful memories of him shaving while I watched him as a child came back. It's time for a change.

First off, a razor. It seems like the Merkur 34C would be the best way to start, no? I have large hands, is there any major difference in the Long Handle variant?

Next is where I get confused. I have a fairly light to medium beard, so I'm not sure what razor blades I should get. Any recommendations?

Regarding the brush, whats a relatively inexpensive starter brush that is still a quality product? I see lots of positive Amazon reviews for Tweezerman brushes. If you were just starting your collection/DE shaving, what brush would you start with?

OK, so razor/blades/brush are done. Now what? I'm confused as to the products as well. Soaps, creams, pre/post shave oils?

If I use a shaving cream, such as those dispensed from a tube, do I still need a soap? Do I apply the cream from the tube to my brush and then lather it to my face? What should a beginner start with?

What's the benefit of a soap versus a cream?

I apologize for the long winded post and confused tone. I can't wait to get started, but I feel that I'm getting bogged down in the sheer amount of information at my disposal! I'd really appreciate any help you could all give me in narrowing down my focus and any recommendations to products would be great.

Thanks everyone, looking forward to checking out your replies. :)