What's new

No Coffee Brewers Allowed

Just found out my division is moving to a different office at the end of the month. Turns out they do not allow coffee pots or electric tea kettles. I've grown very fond of my afternoon coffee so this is a problem. Obviously auto-drip is not an option. They have hot water available in the cafe but I have no idea what temp. it is though. This gives me doubt about how FP would work and I have no experience w/ pour over. Any ideas?

How serious are they about the electric kettles? A company I worked for had that same rule, but a lot of people had kettles and four-cup coffee makers. One guy even had a bread machine that was on a timer to make bread that was ready when he got to work...a bit extreme.

Aeropress?

+1

The Aeropress was actually designed for lower temperature brewing boasting reduced acidity. I usually use it at normal brew temperatures (and have a small electric kettle in the kitchen to boost the hot water to boiling for my coffee or espresso) but you should be fine with the hot water tap, and it's ideal for easy clean-up in an office environment.

Sounds like they are concerned with keeping the power bill down, and/or there might be circuits that are already loaded near capacity. I agree that the Aeropress is a good option. You might want to keep a thermal carafe for transporting hot water.

How serious are they about the electric kettles? A company I worked for had that same rule, but a lot of people had kettles and four-cup coffee makers.

At the risk of thread-jacking, is this normal in the US? Here it's considered normal to have a kettle or urn (depending on required capacity) somewhere on site for the use of all employees. People don't bring their own, it's part of the fixtures and fittings. I can understand why management would be worried about electricity usage if everyone was running their own!

Last edited: