What's new

Time to upgrade

After using the same non descript Boar brush for 26 years ( gifted with my 1st razor when i was a lad ) It's time to upgrade to something a little better . I really like the boar brush I have been using ,it has served me well :closedeye .
Reading through B&B i have taken a fancy for an Omega 20107 /50107 boar brush :drool: , it looks similar to the trusty old brush i have been using in the past .
I am a novice when it comes to brushes ,so I am wondering if this would be a good choice of upgrade :confused1
Thanks in advance .

It wouldn't be bad...

If you like boar, my favorite, and the only boar that I've kept around, is the Semouge Owner's Club boar brush, that's what I would get.

Or, there is a whole world of brushes out there for you to explore (badger, boar, mixed, horse, synthetic) in all sorts of sizes.

If your after a quality boar then look no futher than the semogue 620, scritchy, great lather maker or the Semogue 610 a little more forgiving but still agreat brush. If you want Badger, well IMHO you cant go wrong with the Simpsons Duke 2 in best.

Hi Dawsub,

Welcome to B&B.

You'll see that there's quite a bit of opinions as to what the best Boar brush is.

In my opinion, you'll do fine with the brush that you selected, but be aware that it is on the larger side for boar brushes. Barber brushes tend to be just that, designed for the Barber to paint on lather. Having said that I have a wonderfully broken in Omega pro 49, a very similar brush, that is regularly used. It does a great job and feels great against my face.

You'll see that there's much appreciation of both Omega and Semogue boars here on B&B. I understand that Vulflix offers boar brushes, but here in the US, there seems to be much less awareness of Vulflixs.