What's new

Keeping your Razor Blades Dry?

Newbie here,
So I have read that one of the quickest ways to dull your razor blades is not to dry them after use. I started drying the razor blades with a towel after use, but I have read that this will dull the blades as well? What is the proper way to dry your razor blades after use?
Thanks,
New guy...:ohmy:

I open the razor head and let it air dry. However, I do dip the razor and blade in isopropyl alcohol to help remove any water and to disinfect it. It may not be necessary to do this - but I have been doing it for so many years it has become a habit.

However, I don't see how drying a blade in a towel would do any harm - other than the danger of getting a cut.

Odd, even on the directions of my Merkur blades, they state not to use a towel to dry them.

I open the razor head and let it air dry. However, I do dip the razor and blade in isopropyl alcohol to help remove any water and to disinfect it. It may not be necessary to do this - but I have been doing it for so many years it has become a habit.

However, I don't see how drying a blade in a towel would do any harm - other than the danger of getting a cut.

I also dip the blade (head of the razor) in 99% alcohol after use. This gets rid of the excess water and the alcohol evaporates very quickly.

I just give my razor a quick shake and place it on the shelf.

The blade gets dull from shaving faster than because of rust.

I lay a dry hand towel on the sink, place the blade on it and then fold the towel on top of the blade. Simple, quick and I can't for the life of me see how this can harm a blade in any way, shape or form. I then lay the blade in a small plastic container that has a folded paper towel in the bottom and a couple of the packets that absorb moisture that I kept from a bottle of vitamins.