Thread: Best Shavette for Newbie?

Images

Default Best Shavette for Newbie?

Hey guys! I have many hobbies so my time shaving is limited. I would love to straight razor shave just to give it a whirl! Can you guys recommend a good "shavette" razor? I'm not sure if thats a brand name or the general term for a straight with a replaceable blade. Any info is appreciated!
    -Foxhole Shaver-

im just starting out on "straight" razor, and i bought myself a feather DX (teak). i dont believe in buying into entry level products, but the best. that way, you only get the finest, and you only have to buy it once.

i know some people will disagree that a feather is not a true straight, nor is it the "best". i cant comment on the feather DX straight yet, as Im still waiting for it to arrive from the usa.
    Currently own: Feather DX teak scales; Gillette Fatboy;Tech 40 Aluminium; Tech 50 Ball end

I have been using a Weck Sextoblade and haven't been using many DE's for the last 3ish weeks. I think they are great! It uses hair shaper type blades and not the 1/2 DE blades.

Images

Every straight basically boils down to a sharp razor edge on a stick. They all give great shaves in different ways, kinda like choosing between Japanese, Italian, Chinese and Mexican....restaurants or otherwise...:).

Read up a little and go get yerslef one and start shaving! If you like it you will probably end up with all kinds of straights anyways, traditional and disposable.
    ~ ​​Kent
    <[Self-certified Straight Shaver]>
    。。現在日本剃刀に夢中。。

Images

Right!

Buy a Parker shavette, use it. Justify "trying other straights", next thing you know your medicine ca inet will be overflowing like all the rest of us nutjobs.
    One, two! One, two! and through and through...The vorpal blade went snicker-snack!

Quote Originally Posted by Seraphim View Post
    Right!