What's new

Recommend me a pen

I recently started my first real job which requires a lot of writing. I am a nurse practitioner and I am constantly writing patient notes, orders, etc... I am interested in trying a fountain pen around $50 but I am not sure what exactly I should be looking for.

Some details about me: I tend to write quickly because of the workload I have and I have to write in small spaces on some charts. What I am more concerned about is that some of the charts and medication orders I write in have carbon copies. Is it safe to say that the fountain pen won't be very successful on this type of paper?

Any help is appreciated!

not sure where you work but at the hosp I worked at fountains pens, gel pens, etc were a no, no. only black ballpoint pens. the last few years less and less is written most stuff is put directly into the computers. Doc's all carry something tablets

The only concern I have is if I can bring my pen into work. I provide primary care and urgent care at a prison; many items are contraband and can't be brought into the facility. The State has yet to implement EMR and tablets are way,way, way down the road. Writing it is!

Esterbrook made a stiff nib designed for writing on forms with carbon copies, so a fountain pen should be fine if you get a firm nib. One that comes to mind would be a Lamy Nexx with a converter. Use Noodler's permanent black ink with it, and make sure you get a fine nib. You can press a little more firmly on that nib without fear of damaging it. The grip is rubbery and comfortable, and it's a cheap enough pen that if you lose it (or it walks off), you won't lose sleep over it. They're great writers for little money. Bear in mind that someone will eventually ask to borrow your pen, and most folks will be put off if you hand them a fountain pen.