What's new

My first thoughts on the Merkur HD 39C Long Handle Barber Pole Safety Razor Slant Bar

Now try and say that title 5 times fast and not loose your breath :w00t:

To start off, if any knows me on the forums they know me as a simplistic shaver. I like to keep things very simple and I don't like to change things up much. I mean seriously until yesterday August 23rd I have been shaving strictly since January 1st 2011 every single day with my 1930 Aristocrat. Mind you I had a few moments of weakness with an Old Type for a few days, one shave with a Super Speed as I was trying some Method Shaving Techniques and finally about 5-6 shaves with a Straight Rup Razor but other than that every morning it's the same routine with the Aristocrat day in and day out.

So while I loved the straight and it was fun and liberating to use I just couldn't find the time to use it each morning. So I traded it on the forums with Tralfaz for the Merkur, which also included a Gillette 1920 Single Ring. Since wet shaving I have only used DE Gillette's and have been very happy with their quality and ease of use. I have used a Super Speed, the beloved FatBoy, an Old Type, a Slim Adjustable & of course my favorite the very sexy 1930 Aristocrat. Well enough about all that lets chat about the Merkur.

proxy.php

THE RAZOR
The Merkur 39C is a nice and heavy razor, the heavist I have used weighing in at over 4 oz. The weight alone is probably my most favorite feature of the razor, besides it good looks and length. It just feels like your holding something solid that you can wield around to slice, chop and butcher hairs one by one. The other feature I like is the bottom of the Razor has a nice ball to tighten up the head so you don't need to hold the head of the razor with a towel like the Old Type I own.