What's new

1st shave with a slim adjustable

i have been using a 38c for a few months now in between shaving with a straight. i have been getting very nice shaves with it using derbys and feathers doing 2-3 pass shaves. i finally picked up another razor (thank you ram)- a slim adjustable. i dropped a derby in it and set it at a modest 6 and went to town doing a 3 pass shave and i have to say----wow! i really like it. the setting of 6 is definitely more aggressive than the 38c.
now the sad news--- i bought it to build a small starter kit for a good friend of mine (i have a bunch of blades and a couple of arko sticks coming from gio and a tweezerman brush for him). so this is a razor that will have to be replaced. either another slim, a fat boy, a progress or even another step up to a slant but all in all i would be very happy with another slim. perfect size/weight. i will use it a few more times with a few different blades to really see how it performs.

cheers and thank y'all for the great site,

ryan

oh ya- pm me if you have a razor to part with to replace this one!

Well I just bought a later model slim (G1000) with a plastic long handle and I must say that even if it is unadjustable it shaves great! It is better and smoother than the Tech I was using before. It is almost impossible to nick or cut with this razor and it shaves slightly more aggressively (better) than the tech. I would definitely buy another Slim if I could get hold of it, for my travel kit. I wonder (thinking out loudly) if the later models of Slim (despite the plastic handle) were the ultimate razors from Gillette before they stopped making DE razors altogether.

V

VR6ofpain