What's new

Improving...Slowly

So my first two shaves were pretty lackluster, and I've documented them in this forum earlier. Dealing with a DE razor really takes some extra concentration that using a cartridge razor did not demand from me previously. I've begun to really concentrate on the shaving angles/length of each singular shave, and it's helped greatly from my first DE shave, which was pretty downright terrible. I still find myself clinging onto bad habits that I "learned" in my cartridge shaving past, which have taken a lot of mindful effort to overcome. The primary difficulty is attempting to correct what seems like an innate, lacking skill; however, learning the new technique of lather production is the second half to this new challenge. Suddenly I'm taxed with using a badger-hair brush, which is another new concept, but by which I have no previous experience attempting to preform. Like my first post, I remain optimistic, but it almost seems as if learning more of the proper technique almost reveals much more room for improvement at said technique, which presently seems daunting, but not insurmountable.

Since shaving is an Art Form, it is ever evolving. Guess that's what makes this little "hobby" so much fun. I haven't cut myself in months but, last night I shaved in a hurry and had three nics and a couple of weepers. Old cartridge shaving habits tend to fade but never leave.