What's new

Conventional Wisdom

I have always questioned conventional wisdom. I am still sort of a DE newbie. I have been shaving for 50+ years and started with a DE and came back to it about 5 months ago. One of the things I questioned was the passes of NS, EW, SN to get a WTG, XTG, AGT shave. One reason I did that is that the hair on my neck seems to circle to compass. I was doing a WTG (NS), XTG (EW), and a XTG (WE). I got good shaves and little irritation and very few nicks. I thought that was as good as it gets and was actually quit happy with my results. Not BBS perhaps but certainly deep into DFS.

But then I thought about the NS/EW/SN concept (conventional) and decided to give it a try. I found that there is a reason it was conventional wisdom. The reason is: It works. I still follow the good prep rules, bowl lather (because I like warm lather) and get a BBS shave with no irritation. I do have two red bumps and we will have to see what happens there. They are on my left cheek (where I've never even nicked before) and a cold water splash stops the bleeding. Not sure if it's shaving related yet.

My main point though is for you guys just starting:

• Yes do experiment and certainly map your face
  • Read the B&B stickies paying attention to the getting started stuff.
  • Don't look for great shaves at first, they'll come. Technique first.
  • Remember the 'conventional wisdom' to be found here. You may want to come back to it. I did.
Good luck and good shaving:biggrin1:

Last edited:
Nice work- I am not a fan of statistics, but the conventional wisdom is just a gathering of data and it works for that reason. Most people seem to fall within the curve and end up benefiting from the experience of others.