What's new

*New ***Forest suggestions requested.

I had the good fortune of picking up a New Forest 2221 from a generous member last week. Man, this thing has soft tips. Takes in a lot of water but when I tried to face lather the brush spread flat on my face. I think floppy is the term (correct me if I'm wrong). Creates a nice, thick, and voluminous lather.

But I didn't like the lack of backbone and felt that it could have created lather a bit faster without the flop. So I did a side by side test. I grabbed a tweezerman and loaded both brushes with an equal amount of cream (TOBS Rose) and started lathering my left and right cheeks simultaneously. Result? The tweezerman created a leather that was a tiny bit thicker and reached that point about 10-15 seconds before the New Forest.

I realize that I am still somewhat new to face lathering and the amount of cream I used could have been the perfect amount for the tweezerman and too much/not enough for the New Forest, so I plan on doing this experiment again tomorrow. I will report back with the results.

While I really like the New Forest, I already know it's not for me. Could anyone suggest a brush with a bit more back bone but soft tips, a handle that is a tiny bit larger (The handle is a bit too narrow near the base, see pic below), and preferably less than $50. Does such a brush exist?

proxy.php

did you soak the brush first maybe, try doing a rinse of the brush? idk i always soak mine prior... but i have heard of other members just rinsing theirs out....either way thats a beautiful pic and nice looking brush...

You are going to be hard-pressed to find something larger than the NF with better backbone for $50. Why? Badger hair is expensive. More backbone typically means more hair shoved in the knot (alternatives include setting the knot lower or using a coarser/springier hair type like 2-band).