What's new

How do you pick

Hi, Newbie here. I've been shaving with a brush for years, but never had any guidance. I live in rural PA, and no stores carry anything but the cheapest of brushes. Years ago, during a visit to Montreal, we stumbled on what appeared to be a beautiful brush with a silver plate handle that my wife insisted on buying for me. I don't remember the name or price, except that it struck me as quite expensive at the time. Over the years, it has lost quite a bit of hair, and as soon as I try to build a lather, it goes flat against my face. I've learned a good bit by lurking, and I'm ready for a new brush, but I have no idea what I want. It's not like buying a new pot to cook with, where I can visit a store and lift it, nor, even if I found a brush, could I try it out. And then there's all the confusion about bristle type...

So, I'm willing to say price is no object. I want to treat myself. Even the Rooney at close to $400 is in consideration. If it lasts 10 years, well, that's only $40/year or $3.50/month. I don't smoke and drink rarely, so I'm entitled to something ;) But what's confusing to me is the names. I'm dyslexic, so it drives me nuts when "best" is not THE best and Shavemac feels silver tip is better than finest, and yet Rooney rates finest above silver tip... Is Shavemac's silver tip equal to Rooney's finest?

And what about knot size? I have no idea. Shavemac's largest is 30 mm, and I think Rooney's is 26, but either way, it's meaningless to me (BTW, I'm not limiting anything to just Shavemac or Rooney, they just make good examples).
And loft? And stiffness?
How do you choose when you do not have the opportunity to check them out in person. I know I want more stiffness than laying flat on my face, but how much more? Anyway, if they're all silver tip, why would one be stiffer than another? Doesn't make sense to me.

Oh, I'll be using soap and a scuttle if that helps. I'd appreciate any suggestions/explanations you folks have to offer.