What's new

Hello B&B...Advice for a rookie?

I am new to DE shaving and have been lurking for a couple weeks trying to pick up the basics (prep, blade angle, WTG, XTG,ATG, etc) In this short time I have already managed to develop a case of AD! So hello everyone and please help…

I have very thick hair and a difficult growth pattern on my neck. I have primarily used electric razors until now because I would have to throw out cartridge razors after the second use or I would get irradiation. So, I decided try old school rather then continue hating my routine each morning.

Monday was the beginning of my 3rd week with a DE so I have 11 shaves in. My kit is a Parker Safety, EJ brush, pre-shave oil and several soap/creams/blades. Shaves have been overall decent so far however I do get several bleeding spots each day. The shave itself is comfortable despite these spots seeping blood. The blood seems to come from a single pore rather then a cut. I guess these are weepers? There is no sting or pain until I used styptic or alum to stop the seeping…

Anyone experience this starting out? Advise?

Welcome!

Weepers are usually a pressure and/or blade angle issue. They are also more likely to occur the more passes you add. I would say stick with a two-pass WTG/XTG while your technique is developing and add a third pass once you are consistently getting comfortable shaves with no weepers or irritation.

Use a light touch and aim for beard reduction, not elimination, with each pass.

Just getting back into it myself, and I focus on spending more time on the kyle face prep, going slow, low pressure, and maxing it at 3 lathers and 2 passes -- WTG/XTG. Throat area still not optimal, but I'm not rushing it.

You might just be slicing the top off a pimple or some similar skin irritation. Will just have to use an extra light touch near that area for a week or more, giving it time to heal up without worrying about getting a close shave.