What's new

Setting the bevel (advice requested)

Hello,
By all accounts I am a newbie at honing. That said, I've succesfully honed around 20 razors for my personal use and have been quite pleased with the results on many of them. For some reason, however, I occasionally find a challenging razor that I can't seem to set the bevel on properly. I'm dealing with a particularly annoying razor at the moment and was hoping I might be able to get advice. "A newbie's guide to setting the bevel" if you will.

Any advice or pointers you guys can share would be appreciate?

For background, I'm starting with a DMT 1200 and have tried circle, rolling x and straight strokes.

Thanks in advance!

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
What kind of razor is it? Smiley, wedge, warped, etc? I sometimes use the sharpie on the edge and make a few passes on the rock and see where the ink has and hasn't been removed...then you know where the bevel isn't getting set. If it's warped you might need some tinkering to get it right...ie. Tape on toe only, honing on very thin hones, many layers of tape, etc.

Hollow ground with a bit of a frown. Haven't used a marker on this one yet. I'll try that tonight though. It doesnt appear to be warped based on the way the water moves off the stone.

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
Ah, you need to hone out that frown. Some say to bread knife, some just hone on a rough stone with tape to protect the spine. I just tape up the spine, apply mild pressure to toe and heel, and rub until the edge is nice and straight. If the blade isnt warped the toe and heel should be touching while the center should be floating above the hone anyways(caveat: I can have the whole blade touch the hone at the same time) I have read that on an otherwise straight razor the frown is caused by the natural x stroke over time since the middle of the blade gets the most contact with the hone.