What's new

Travel kits

Hi,
I'm new to the world of DE razors. I was wondering what people do while traveling? From what I've seen, it seems like theres a lot of equipment, between the razors, soaps, brushes, mugs, etc. A lot of this needs to be left out to dry after use too.

My question is, is there an easy way to travel with all this, or is travel time a good time to revert back to disposable/cartridge razors and canned shaving cream?

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! Go to the current Shave of the Day thread...this weeks theme is travel kits. Also search the site, you'll find a lot out there. Basically, a small brush and a soap stick is standard fair. Search "Pill bottle" and you'll land on some good info about carrying a brush.

At its most basic, all you need is a razor/blade, brush, soap and aftershave - all of which will essentially take up the same amount of room as a cart, shave foam and aftershave. Some people do like to take multiples, but I personally don't.

My previous travel kit was:

Razor: Merkur 33c 3 piece.
Blades: Any brand that comes in the plastic blade thing so you can pop your old ones in the back.
Brush: A $10 boar from a local barber that I carried in a toilet roll tube to protect it.
Soap: Arko stick for face lathering.
Aftershave: Proraso 100ml splash.

All that fit neatly into my roll-up dopp kit along with the rest of my toiletries and I used it on a month long trip to the Philippines, and for regular work trips.

I'm going to Micronesia later this year and the kit will be even smaller, as I am using a smaller bottle of aftershave.

If you are concerned about space, you absolutely do not need to worry. The only consideration is carrying razor blades when travelling on an airplane, but you just check your bag or buy some when you get to your destination.

God forbid, we go back to the awful shaving crap!