What's new

confused by pipe filters?

could somone explain how these work i have seen three diffrent varities

1 the cylinder similar looking to a cigg filter. do they fit all pipes? and is there any point? (i dont want anything to ruin the flavour)

2 the sort of thick wire wool style ball that i think goes in the bottom of the bowl. this really confuses me as i imagine it would get very hot

3 the sort of wire mesh that i have seen in certin shops that sell drug smoking equipment. i doubt this applies to pipes but any advice is welcome.

as a novice i am happy just keeping it simple for now until i get my method down but it is nice to have all the info.

The cylinders fit in filter pipes like Dr. Grabow, medico, cob, and some Peterson pipes among others they come in carbon and paper, some like them I'm not a fan. The wooly asbestos looking ones and screens fit in the bottom of a bowl and are messy to deal with and I don't like putting anything in my pipe but tobacco, although I have used screens in the bottom of some cobs that had a poorly fitting shank in the bowl until enough carbon builds up to even out the bottom of the bowl. Sevinelli makes a solid balsa filter shaped like a triangular prism, instead of a tube think of that shape with a triangle instead of a circle. Those come in sizes that fit most pipes that take a paper filter and I use them in all my cobs. They don't interfere with the draw or flavor, absorb much moisture, and can be reused more often.

Commander Quan

Commander Yellow Pantyhose
I do know that filtered pipes are more prevalent in Europe than they are in N. America, so the chances are that you will run into filtered pipes more than a lot of the guys on here. I know Peterson's have the shanks designed to be able to drill them to accept the 9mm filters, but most of the ones we get in the US have the straight push in tenon.