What's new

Can you load a single edge razor with double-edge blades?

Looking at picking up a vintage single edge razor, but have never used one before. Can you load double edge razor blades into a single edge razor (Gem Micromatic Twist is the one I am looking at)?

No but you can use single edge blades and from what I remember they are not very expensive.

Al raz.

Thanks...I know seems silly to ask but just didn't know the answer as I have never used a single edge razor before and didn't know if double edge blades could be used on single and double edge razors.

You have a recommendation on single edge blades?

Thanks...I know seems silly to ask but just didn't know the answer as I have never used a single edge razor before and didn't know if double edge blades could be used on single and double edge razors.

You have a recommendation on single edge blades?

Gem/Personna or Treet

If you had a lot of time on your hands, you could probably modify some double edge blades to fit, but since most of the SE razors hold the blade secure, in part, by putting pressure on the rear, you may end up with a blade that is warped. It would be much simpler to just by some Gem stainless steel blades and enjoy your shave, not fear it.

If you had a lot of time on your hands, you could probably modify some double edge blades to fit, but since most of the SE razors hold the blade secure, in part, by putting pressure on the rear, you may end up with a blade that is warped. It would be much simpler to just by some Gem stainless steel blades and enjoy your shave, not fear it.

+1. If you want to get your MacGyver on, you can put together a little frame that will hold a trimmed DE blade in certain SE razor models. Here's a 5-page thread on the subject.

Warning: DO NOT, in your haste, buy single-edged blades that are sold for paint scrapers and box cutters. Many of them look exactly like the shaving blades. Be sure what you buy is for shaving; trust me; your HMO will thank you.