What's new

Pilot Varsity Disposable Fountain Pen: First Impressions

Hello all,

First off allow me to introduce myself. I'm Mark, I'm 17 years old from Connecticut, USA, and I joined this forum originally just to learn about wetshaving. However, I have always toyed with the idea of trying out a fountain pen, since I've read so much about them, and since I'm still a student, who writes regularly for school, I figured I could probably benefit from trying one out. They were prohibitively expensive, though, since I'm accustomed to the pack of 4 million pens you get for 6 cents at Staples. I didn't really know there was anything I would consider affordable until earlier tonight. When I read about the Pilot Varsity, a pen that can be easily found for under $4, I knew I had to try it out. I walked over to Staples about an hour ago, picked myself up a pack (black, blue, and purple for $7 and change), and tried them out. I'm glad I did.

Click to view fullsize

The very first thing that surprised me when I tried out the Varsity was the smoothness. The end of the nib is a round, almost ball-shaped structure. That allows for some very smooth writing and an easy transition from ballpoints. As you can see, it also makes the writing fairly bold. This is not a super-fine pen by any stretch of the imagination. However, I wouldn't say the width is excessive. It's certainly usable for everyday writing.