What's new

How Many Shaves From An SE Blade?

My last three shaves have been with a Gem OCMM. I am using Treet blades bought at Rite Aid, and I am getting incredible, BBS shaves...better than my DE's.

Does an SE blade last longer? It seems the rigid blade should go for several more shaves. What is your experience?

I'm new to SE shaving myself, had 2 shaves with a GEM blade on a GEM Junior. From what i've read on these here boards, people can get 7 or 8 shaves from SE. Of course, as they're find of saying, YMMV!

I'm interested in the answers about this too!

I need to find out where i can buy SE blades from, only have the 5 i got with the razor, and i don't think Feather SEs (which are the only one i can find in Japan) will work in GEM MM (not sure about Junior yet!)

I need to find out where i can buy SE blades from, only have the 5 i got with the razor, and i don't think Feather SEs (which are the only one i can find in Japan) will work in GEM MM (not sure about Junior yet!)

Feather SE blades do not work in an MM. Junior probably the same. G-bar / Heavy Flat Top works great with Feather. I get 5 or 6 shaves out of a blade.

I pushed a GEM SS blade to 16 shaves. Three-ish passes each. I usually toss after 6-7 shaves, but kept this one going for GEMini. I can't say they were fantastic shaves after the 7-8 mark, but it kept getting the job done. I sure was happy after loading a new blade though. I found that as the shaves approached double digits, the blade worked better in more mild razors, like the Feather Weight and Push Button. My current blade will have to last until the 20th, I think that will put it at 15 shaves. After this, I think I'll keep tossing after 6-7 shaves:lol:

I'm new to SE shaving myself, had 2 shaves with a GEM blade on a GEM Junior. From what i've read on these here boards, people can get 7 or 8 shaves from SE. Of course, as they're find of saying, YMMV!

I'm interested in the answers about this too!