What's new

How I learned to stop neck irritation and love my vintage adjustable

Goodfella, I can't say enough in praise of this razor. Compact, quick, beautifully engineered, quality craftsmanship, very forgiving. It has been recommended as a newbie razor because it is so forgiving. But is it too forgiving? Is it so forgiving that it encourages, or at least does not discourage, bad habits and sloppy technique that robs a new user of the ultimate shave? Can the case be made for the "tough love" approach to learning the art of DE wet shaving?

It worked for me. A few weeks ago I acquired a '59 Gillette adjustable :001_tt1:, up until then I had been using and enjoying my Goodfella for about 6 months. My technique had, or at least I thought it had, improved since the early months and an extensive regimen of beard prep had reduced but not eliminated neck irritation. I had been undertightening the razor as a poor man's adjustable, since I was convinced that some of the irritation stemmed from over working the neck with very mild passes, but this was far too imprecise and on one bloody occasion convinced me of the need to acquire a genuine adjustable.

Enter the Fat Boy, and the worst shave I have had. Ever. With anything. EVER. Blood, rashes, ingrowns, and a face that burned with unholy fire for days afterward. What the deuce just happened? I had used the same beard prep, the same lathering techniques, the same shaving techniques that I had been practicing on the Goodfella, I had done nothing different. And that my friends was the problem. Turns out, that what is acceptable technique on the Gf, is NOT acceptable technique with other razors. Not that I realised this at the time, I just sadly put away the FB and decided my face was not cut out for this model.