What's new

New Scales on my Dovo

Hi

I have just picked up a nice Dovo from a local junk shop, I have bought it for my Nephew who has just started DE shaving but wants to progress into Str8’s. The blade is fine and has cleaned and honed up well, but the scales have a lot to be desired. I have ordered a new set of Dovo's Tortoise shell scales from Classic Shaving and was wandering how difficult it is to attach them? It says on the advert that all I have to do is drill a hole in the scales and insert the silver pin supplied. Am I correct in assuming you then simply cut the pin to length and using a hollow nail punch round off the end of the pin until the blade is tight? As this is my first attempt at this sort of thing should I really be doing it, or should I send it off to someone who does?:001_unsur

If the latter, does anyone know someone in the UK that can do the job?

Cheers

The 'pins' that are used for razors are actually miniature rivets. There is one side that resembles a miniature nail in that it has an included 'head' on it. Along with this one has some miniature washers.

After suitably drilling the scales to take the pin, one inserts the rivet through it and places the tiny washer around it on the other side, after which one cuts off the pin (using a fine pair of cutters) leaving a tiny bit of extra length. You will have to judge this extra length for yourself. Too little and you won't get a good fastening, too much and it might end up being huge and ungainly looking lump... or even bend over.

One does not use a hollow nail punch for setting these rivets. Instead, a small peening hammer is used to mushroom the little bit of extra pin over the retaining washer, thus forming the fastening. Don't try to mash this down in one blow, as the results will be most disappointing. Tap gently on it over and over to gradually spread the metal.